Ashtanga Yoga New Orleans



About Ashtanga Practice
Ashtanga  |  Definition  |  Mysore-Style  |  Adjustments
Moon Days  |  Chant  |  Vinyasa  |  Bandhas  |  Drishti

General Resources  |  Articles  |  Primary Texts  |  Books & Video



Drishtis are visual focus points employed during Ashtanga practice.  For every breath, every vinyasa, and every asana, there is a specified place to focus the eyes.  Drishti center the mind and promote focus and awareness.

The nine drishtis are:

Angusta ma dyai - thumbs
Broomadhya - between the eyebrows
Nasagrai - tip of the nose
Hastagrai - hand
Parsva - to the side (Left)
Parsva - to the side (Right)
Urdhva - up to the sky (also called antara, which means "within")
Nabi Chakra - to the navel
Padayoragrai - toes

Home  | Send e-mail
Copyright   Ashtanga Yoga New Orleans.  All rights reserved.